Break dance, not hearts. Drop beats, not bombs. Throw Parties, not Grenades. Draft beer, not People. Condoms are cheap, guns aren't. Love is like war, easy to begin, hard to end, impossible to forget.

Map from OCU


The map I got was from Swisher Sweetings. The map is of Lake Hefner in Oklahoma. The original map itself was pretty basic but had a lot of detail. You could definitely tell that the lake was meant to be the center of the map. Most maps don’t show depths of a body of water but merely the location. When I look at the map with its additions, it reminds me of what a tourists map should look like, except more personal. I like that the maker didn’t add to much too it. She used bright-colored ink and arrows (great handwriting by the way) to show where a visitor should go. That was it! The thing is, I can’t really see the map needing much more than that or it would look to cluttered. The vision that I get of Oklahoma from this map is fun. The different spots and funny comments help me to get to know what the author thinks of this place and helps me shape my view of it. Of course with the fun in this map comes lies. That’s what our entire class was based around this semester. How we lie with maps. One that jumped out at me was mermaid bay. The obvious lie here is that there are no such things as mermaids (although I wish there was). It makes me want to go there and see just how pretty it is. The two landmarks that I think may have some sort of inside joke to them are the secret medieval park and the thieving leprechauns. The places that aren’t lies, but I would really like to visit, are the place to sit and watch the sunset and the restraunts. I’m not even going to lie, I love food so this would be great for me. The sharks in the middle of the lake remind me of every horror movie I’ve ever seen with killer sharks so I won’t be swimming in Lake Hefner anytime soon. Overall this map was really cool and I enjoyed using my imagination to picture all the places.

Comments on: "Map from OCU" (1)

  1. Caitlin Swisher said:

    Thanks you!! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I wish mermaids were real too. I’m afraid if they did live in Lake Hefner, however, they would be kind of brown and sickly looking from our red dirt water!

Leave a comment